Sharing is caring

When I started this blog I figured it would just be recipes that I wanted to make. After discussing my blog with my dear friend Ashley, she excitingly suggested I include a recipe she recently made. This made me decide that not only will I share my own cooking, but that I’ll share recipes of others that want to share with me! So, friends who are reading this, (which currently is probably about 0 ) give me recipes that you’ve made and loved, or maybe didn’t love but still want to share. I will happily put them here with any comments you have about them. If there is one thing we can all talk and bond over, it’s food, right?

Ashley recently made a sweet potato salad for the good ol’ fourth of july.  Potato salad is pretty much a staple when it comes to the 4th, but with the current heat wave sweeping through the United States, she wasn’t in the mood for a creamy gloppy dish, so she opted to make a different version.

Here is the recipe: (courtesy of foodnetwork.com)

Ingredients

  • 2 cups medium diced sweet potatoes
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 2/3 cup finely diced red onion
  • 1/3 cup finely diced celery
  • 2 teaspoons freshly grated ginger
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped parsley

Directions

Cook potatoes until they are fork tender in boiling water. Drain the potatoes and cool them completely. Soak the raisins in hot water for 15 minutes and then drain. Combine all the ingredients and mix them thoroughly, but gently. Chill for 24 hours before serving.

Ashley told me she added extra ginger, and that it was very light, refreshing.

Perfect for this type of weather.

Thanks ash!

Image

Leave a Reply

